TESTIMONIALS2020-09-21T10:11:54-07:00

MUSICIANS IN SUPPORT OF SMOKEFREE AIR

MARCIA BALL

“Smokefree venues have saved my life and my career. I hope that 15 years of not inhaling secondhand smoke has limited the damage done by my first 35 years of playing in smoky bars. It was a hard slog to get people to understand how important it is to consider other people when they light up and to maybe stop smoking all together. The American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation fought that battle for us and the result is cleaner air and a healthier environment for musicians and fans alike. We couldn’t have done it without Smokefree Music Cities and we are so grateful. My lungs, my hair and skin, my clothes, and my instruments all thank you!”

Marcia Ball is an American blues singer and pianist raised in Vinton, Louisiana. She was described by USA Today as “a sensation, saucy singer and superb pianist… where Texas stomp-rock and Louisiana blues-swamp meet.” The Boston Globe described her music as “an irresistible celebratory blend of rollicking, two-fisted New Orleans piano, Louisiana swamp rock and smoldering Texas blues from a contemporary storyteller.
Marcia holds 11 Blues Music Awards, 10 Living Blues Awards, and five GRAMMY award nominations. She has been inducted into the Gulf Coast Music Hall of Fame and the Louisiana Music Hall of Fame, and in 2018, into the Austin City Limits Halls of Fame.

“I still love the feel of the wheels rolling,” she says, “and the energy in a room full of people ready to go wherever it is we take them.” Marcia Ball will shine a light into the darkness, making the world a brighter place one song at a time.

Photo By Mary Bruton

MATT THE ELECTRICIAN

“I think it is, without question, a far more enjoyable and healthy experience for everyone involved, to play music in a smoke-free environment, rather than the alternative, and I’m grateful to the smoke-free movement for working so diligently towards their goals!”

Despite the name, Matt the Electrician is no longer an electrician, focusing instead on a music career that has spanned the course of two decades, a dozen records, and thousands of shows. His music, however, remains rooted in his blue collar beginnings, with lyricism that embraces the day-to-day, the mundane, the beauty of the ordinary.

Before moving to Austin, TX and launching his career as a working-class folk musician, Matt Sever grew up on the West Coast. His parents played John Denver and Pete Seeger songs on the family record player, and Matt spent his earliest years surrounded by the things that would later fill his own music: acoustic guitars, timeless melodies, lyrics that celebrated the joys and heartaches of everyday life, and — above all else — a strong work ethic.

That work ethic served him well in the mid-1990s, when he moved to Austin in search of new horizons and better opportunities. Matt was already playing music by then, and in need of a steady day job, he began working as an electrician, spending his days wiring houses in the Texas heat. Once quitting time came, he’d grab his guitar and drive himself to an evening show, usually taking the stage in his work boots and sweaty clothes. “Hi; I’m Matt the Electrician,” he’d tell the crowd, hoping his occupation would help explain his appearance. The name stuck, even after his growing fan base at home, as well as abroad, allowed him to hang up his pliers for good.

Matt’s most recent release, a double CD called The Doubles, is the culmination of a 2-year vinyl 45 collaborative project.

SAULPAUL

“Everyone deserves a smokefree workplace. Even musicians.”

SaulPaul is an award winning and GRAMMY nominated musician with a message. SaulPaul has shared his story and his music at two TEDx talks, American’s Got Talent as well as the Kennedy Center for Performing Arts. As SaulPaul entertains and inspires audiences across the world, he continues to use his platform to promote social good and advocates for youth.
FROM WIKIPEDIA: He is an American artist and most widely known as a rapper from Houston, Texas. He has garnered much attention with his unique talent to “make songs up on the spot,” aka freestyle. He is not your ordinary rapper in that his message is very different from what you would typically hear in rap music.

MOVING PANORAMAS

“Playing in non-smoking venues has not only saved my voice it has saved my health and quite possibly saved my life. I spent the first 30 years of my life as a secondhand smokers growing up in a smoking household and singing in smoky bars. Before the smokefree movement, I suffered from decades of chronic bronchitis. After the smokefree movement, I’ve been consistently bronchitis-free for many years. Only if I rarely end up playing in a smoking venue of out the state of country, does the bronchitis return. I’m so grateful for the smokefree movement. Thank you for making my life as a musician better.” – Leslie Sisson

Spacey but not alienating, loud yet still light, painting panoramic sound against a moving melodic backdrop, Moving Panoramas make dreamy boot gaze rock from Austin, TX, led by songwriter Leslie Sisson. Their 2015 debut LP ‘One’ and 2019 sophomore LP “in Two (both Modern Outsider) received international acclaim and reached #1 on radio charts. Starting off as a simple dream gaze trio and multiplying into a dream rock quintet, the music has expanded with more diversity, rhythm, volume, vocals, and instrumentation, such as the swimmy pedal steel, along with bandmates Rosie Castoe, Cara Tillman, Jody Suarez, and Phil McJunkins.

Photo by Diving Starlings Photography

SHINYRIBS

“Smoking is for brisket, drag racing and religious ceremonies.  Not necessarily in that order.” 

Shinyribs show is an exaltation of spirit.  It’s a hip shaking, belly laughing soul-slinging, down-home house party.  All styles of American music are likely to be touched on.  Whether on his 6-string Uke or his electric guitar or singing a cappella, Russell will entertain you like no one else.  His original songs laced with magical-realism along with novel interpretations of popular songs old and new (George Jones, TLC, Leadbelly, T-Pain) are the true art that runs throughout.  He’s Burl Ives meets Al Green; Hank, Jr. meets Teddy Pendergras.  Wendell Berry meets Chuck Berry.

GINA CHAVEZ

“If I am around smoke, it really affects my voice. I was in Japan and playing in this really cool bar upstairs – very cool venue – and as I was in the middle of playing a song, my voice just dies.  The bar was filled with smoke and my voice died – nothing would come out.  I went outside for some fresh air and immediately start feeling better.  The manager was so apologetic and said they would ask everyone to go outside to smoke, which changed the atmosphere and I could finish the show.  I take for granted that I live in Austin, which is a smokefree city, when I play in cities that still allowing smoking indoors.  You reek from the smoke, and then there are the health effects from the secondhand smoke.  Smokefree music cities really do save lives and help us with our quality of life.”

Gina Chavez is a wife, philanthropist and an award-winning independent musician.  She is a proud native Austinite and a 12-time Austin Music Award winner, including 2019 Best Female Vocals and 2015 Austin Musician of the Year.  Her NPR Tiny Desk concert has more than a million views and she is featured on a Brene Brown’s new podcast, Unlocking Us.  Gina’s music is deeply personal.  Her passionate collection of bilingual songs take audiences on a journey to discover her Latin roots through music as she shares her story of life in Texas as a married, queer Catholic.

Gina tours internationally as a cultural ambassador with the U.S. State Department and runs Ninas Arriba, a college fund she co-founded with her wife for young women in gang-dominated El Salvador.  She is featured alongside Oprah, Beyonce, Mahalia Jackson, Dolly Parton and many more in Southern Living’s new book celebrating “100 extraordinary women who have left their indelible mark on the South and beyond.”  Her first all-Spanish language album, La Que Manda, is now available everywhere.

BETTYSOO

“No one should be forced to be subject to indoor smoking at their place of work.  For musicians, bartenders, servers, security, and sound engineers, this means clubs, venues, bars, restaurants, and theaters.  Performing in a smokefree venue means all these people maintain their ability to avoid this significant health risk.”

BettySoo is a singer-songwriter based in Austin, TX.  She has toured internationally as a solo artist and as a member of multiple bands appearing at festival, theaters, clubs, and listening rooms, and she is a highly –sought after studio musicians, singing harmony on albums of Austin’s top tier artists.

Photo credit: Valerie Fremin Photography

JOHNNY GOUDIE

“I am so happy to be able to not have to sing in a smoke-filled room anymore. My voice appreciates it, and I don’t come home smelling so smoky that I have to wash my hair. No more secondhand smoke!”

Johnny Goudie is a Cuban-American singer, songwriter, multi-instrumental musician, record producer and podcaster based in Austin, Texas. Through his four-decade career, Johnny’s musical experiences span the artistic gauntlet and include being the frontman of many bands including Goudie (Elektra Records), the guitarist/keyboardist/backing vocalist for renowned touring acts like Ian Moor and Kathy Valentine (Go-Go’s), a solo artist capable of revealing a previously unseen intimacy, and of course, keyboardist/vocalist for SKYROCKET!

ANNE MCCUE

“Thanks Smokefree Music Cities for caring about musicians. I live in Nashville, and I hope the Nashville venues which still allow smoking, will decide to reopen smokefree because it’s very difficult to sing and breathe when there’s smoke everywhere. We all know how dangerous secondhand smoke can be.”

Described by Billboard magazine as a ‘triple threat,’ Anne McCue has also received acclaim from other artists such as Lucinda Williams and Dave Alvin.

Lucinda said of McCue: “I got inside the songs. The first chance I got, I went to see her perform . . . I was floored!”

Born in Sydney, Australia, McCue has toured the world playing her music in concert halls, pubs and festivals, living for a year in Vietnam. She has most recently been based in East Nashville, a thriving songwriting community on the Cumberland River’s left bank.

Her love of music forged in Sydney, Melbourne and Ho Chi Minh City, McCue landed in America and performed on the Lilith Fair tour. After setting up shop in Los Angeles, she became a vital part of the city’s roots music scene and has since recorded 6 acclaimed studio albums and a DVD ‘Live In Nashville.’

Anne has produced other artists such as Emma Swift, Ellen Starski and Scott Miller and has played guitar on albums by such artists as Robyn Hitchcock and Michelle Shocked. This new album, to be released later in the year, will be her 7th. She is host of the radio show Songs On The Wire on Nashville’s WXNA and is Nashville correspondent for Rhythms Magazine, Australia.

Photo by Ward Weems

DEREK WEBB

“As a professional musician, I’ve spent the better part of the last 20 years traveling and playing in all kinds of venues. While I’ve never smoked, I certainly respect the choices of my friends who do. That said, I’ve definitely faced significant challenges as a performer in venues where smoking is allowed, mostly resulting in severe sort throats, and they have sometimes caused me to cut shows short. Even when venues designate my shows as “smokefree,” the thirdhand smoke from years of smoke particles all over the venue and equipment still presents a significant health risk to both me and the folks who pay to see me. Artists and their audiences have a right to a safe work environments, so I wholeheartedly in support of American Nonsmokers’ Rights Foundation and its Smokefree Music Cities project.”

A 20+ year veteran of the music industry, Derek Webb has sold millions of albums as a founding member of Texas-based folk/rock band Caedmon’s Call, and ruffled political & spiritual feathers alike as a solo artist.

He is also Founder of the revolutionary tribe-building platform NoiseTrade, middleclassmusician.com (teaching musicians to make a living), and The Airing Of Grief podcast, discussing stories of spiritual de & reconstruction.

His most recent album, 2017’s Fingers Crossed, a deeply personal & provocative ‘tale of two divorces’, documents both the break-up of his marriage & the deconstruction of his Christian faith.

The new album, TARGETS, is due out early 2020.

#smokefreemusiccities

SMOOTH HOUND SMITH

“The image of the road-worn musician playing to a crowd in a smoke-filled bar has been a trope romanticized by various media outlets and musicians themselves for decades, but it’s time we updated our thinking; smoking is deadly, and being a touring musician is a difficult job as-is. Just like most other jobs, musicians deserve to work in a reasonably safe, healthy, smokefree environment.”

KYSHONA

“It is always my goal to spread the message of empathy and love through consistent engaging performances and practicing unconditional love and empathy with my audiences. The smokefree movement is an extension of that practice, it helps to extend the idea of respect and love toward the health of me and my bandmates, so that we can continue to give consistent engaging performances for the entirely of our tours. Self-love is the start of mutual love and understanding.”

#smokefreemusiccities

PAUL CHILDERS

“Playing music in a venue that allows smoking not only compromises my health and my ability to play the best show possible, but it also compromises all of those who come to see me. Artists deserve a clean place to work, create, and connect with their audience and that cannot happen in a smoking venue. I look forward to the day when worrying about it will be a thing of the past!”

Blending pop, R&B, and soul, Paul Childers is leading a new breed of singer/songwriters and guitarists. Hailing from Nashville, he finds a way to blur the lines cast between Stevie Ray Vaughan and Hendrix styles of guitar playing, a Motown rhythm section, and pop vocal melodies.

Childers was selected by Acmeville Records as the debut artist on their label, which features live recordings from the Nashville music hotspot. Touring nationally and internationally since 2017, Childers has opened for Vince Gill and Robert Cray, Leann Rimes, and has played the guitars of Chuck Berry, B.B. King, Stevie Ray Vaughan, and Jimi Hendrix in tribute.

His new highly anticipated album, Secondary Colors, is set to release on July 10th 2020.

Photo Credit Cat Denton

MARY GAUTHIER

“I have not played in smoking venues in over a decade. I find it unhealthy and undesirable, so I avoid them.”

“With songwriting as powerful as hers, there’s no need to go looking for qualifiers. She’s a unique, intrinsically valuable musical voice. And there’s never a surplus of those.” — Randy Lewis, Los Angeles Time

The Associated Press named Mary Gauthier as one of the best songwriters of her generation. Her most recent release, 2018’s Rifles & Rosary Beads (a collection of songs co-written with wounded veterans) was nominated for a Grammy award for Best Folk Album, and Record of the Year by the Americana Music Association. The UK Americana Association named Mary International Artist of the Year, and Folk Alliance International named Record of the Year Record of the Year.

Her songs have been recorded by dozens of artists, including Jimmy Buffett, Blake Shelton, Tim McGraw, Bettye Lavette, Mike Farris, Kathy Mattea, Bobby Bare, Amy Helm and Candi Staton, and have appeared extensively in Film and Television, most recently on HBO TV’s Yellowstone.

#smokefreemusiccities

SETH TURNER

“Las Vegas is a smokin’ town. This is a project I can get behind that is near and dear to my heart. I am at risk. We are all at risk. It would be nice to have our voices heard in this case, and to reopen Vegas as a smokefree music city.”

Several years ago Seth Turner started out down a road he hoped would lead him to Nashville. In 2008 his path intersected with the musical roads of six others. Today, they’re known as Seth Turner and The High Desert Drifters and are an exceptional collection of performers from many walks of life, from all over our great country. This fine group displays a wide array of talents and personalities as they perform music that spans generations and encompasses many genres while always staying true to their roots, authentic country music.

http://www.sethturner.com
FB, TW & INSTAGRAM: @sthddband
Apple & YouTube: Seth Turner and the High Desert Drifters

MATTHEW SZLACHETKA

I love music; it is my life! Music allows me to connect with people. I always want to be present and give it my all when performing. but a smoke-filled environment impedes my ability to put my best foot forward and stains that important connection. Public places are our workplaces, whether they are bars, restaurants, casinos, nightclubs, or theaters. Let’s all work together so that we can stay connected, safe, and healthy. Together we will make a change!

Rolling Stone hailed Szlachetka as one of the 10 New Artists You Need to Know, describing his music as “a soundtrack for both the highway and the heartland…a collection of road-dog roots-rockers and Americana ballads inspired by the people (and places) he’s left behind in the rearview mirror.”

2020 is ramping up for the release of Szlachetka’s anticipated upcoming new album Young Hear, Old Soul that was produced by Grammy winning producer Scott Underwood (Drummer/founding member of TRAIN). The album was recorded at Blackbird Studio A and Thunderwood Sound in Nashville between June 30-July 12, 2019.

Based in Nashville, Szlachetka tours nationally with a schedule that’s seen him open for Charlie Staff/blackberry Smoke, The Heartbreakers’ Mike Campbell, Brandi Carlile, Chris Isaak, Brandy Clark, The Byrds’ Chris Hillman, and more.

https://szlachetkamusic.com/

@szlachetkamusic on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter

@szlachetkaofficial on YouTube

#smokefreemusiccities

ANDREA BENSMILLER

“Now more than ever, smoke-free clubs, lounges, and bars are a vital part of keeping musicians healthy and safe. We can do this, Vegas! Let’s push for reopening smokefree in all venues so musicians will have healthier spaces that protect our bodies and our futures!”

Andrea is a graduate of Berklee College of Music and has worked in Los Angeles, Boston, and currently in Las Vegas creating music for stage and film/television. Her past creations include the music for 6 DVD releases for comedian Margaret Cho, four indie albums, and a multimedia stage show with LA band Jariya mounted in Hollywood 99 seat theaters. She is also a writer.

SELWYN BIRCHWOOD

“I support Smokefree Music Cities! It’s crazy sometimes being an artist in those smoky venues. A lot of times people don’t realize that I have to have my asthma inhaler right on stage with me. For someone like me, if I go in those smoke-filled venues it’s pretty hard. I have crazy bad asthma and sometimes in those smoky places, I can’t get enough air to breathe, let alone sing! I don’t want anyone to have to call me an ambulance!”

Selwyn Birchwood, M.B.A.
www.selwynbirchwood.com

#smokefreemusiccities

TOM ADAMS

“My mother was a lifelong smoker, and smoking contributed to her death 5 years ago. I am vehemently against all smoking and vaping, especially in all venues, and I’m glad there are more and more restrictions on smoking.”

Tom is a singer-songwriter, and composes in all genre’s. His musical, The Sock Who Lost His Mate, opened the New York Children’s Theatre festival back in 2015. Other musicals include, Tevye, The Freaks Club and Henry and Hyde. His newest musical, The Secret Princess, co-written with M.K.Wolfe, was scheduled to open in April, but had to be postponed to this fall.

JAMIE KENT

“As an artist that has played over 1,000 shows in just about every kind of venue imaginable, I can say without question that my least favorites all have one thing in common: smoke. I’ve battled asthma for years, so playing music in a smoke filled bar makes my job really tough, and honestly impacts the performance I can give fans. Because of that I now make a point to avoid booking any venues that allow smoking on any tour, even though some of the rooms have some incredible history. My lungs are the engine that my career as an artist runs on. If they go down, so goes the music. It’s just not worth it.”

Jamie Kent has been named an “Artist You Need To Know” by RollingStone.com, and dubbed a “Must Watch Artist” by The Huffington Post. Drawing on influences from modern Americana artists like Jason Isbell and Will Hoge, as well as paying tribute to classic greats like John Prine and Tom Petty, Kent is a “an important young voice with something to say” (Music City Roots). His latest album “All American Mutt”, debuted at #16 on the Billboard Top Country Albums Chart and #3 on the Heatseeker Charts. Kent was the only independent artist to break into the Top 20 at the time. As an entrepreneur, Kent is the founder of People Supporting Artists, a Nashville based nonprofit organization created to empower artists in times of growth, and facilitate relief in times of crisis. He is also the founder of New Nashville Live, a traveling showcase of rising talent from Music City, appearing at festivals across the country.

#smokefreemusiccities

 

Jontavious Willis

“It’s a strain to perform in venues that allow smoking. I only played in one venue that allowed smoking and that was enough for me to know I didn’t want to play in a smoking venue again. Smokefree venues are the way and being a vocalist, I must perserve my voice and inhaling smoke is not the ideal way to do that. I’m 100% for Smokefree Venues and the Smokefree Movement.”

Jontavious Willis is an American country blues singer, guitarist, songwriter, and multi-instrumentalist. He is a GRAMMY nominee, and is nominated for 3 Blues Foundation awards

SEAN ARDOIN

“After a gig in a venue full of 2nd hand smoke my throat is irritated, sinuses are inflamed, and eyes are burning…. That can’t be good for my voice.”

Sean Ardoin is a Grammy nominated singer-songwriter and Creole-Zydeco musician extraordinaire. The legacy started with legendary Creole musician Amedee’ Ardoin, the first Louisiana Cajun or Creole accordionist to record; followed by Bois Sec Ardoin, one of the best-known practitioners of the state’s rural Creole sound for six decades, to Sean’s father, Lawrence “Black” Ardoin and the Ardoin Brothers, then to Sean. He co-lead the critically-acclaimed Zydeco outfit Double Clutchin’ for 10 years, then started Sean Ardoin + Zydekool’s. Sean has performed at Carnegie Hall, worldwide festivals, performed live on BET’s Comic View, been featured in commercials, had his music in movies and on TV. Sean founded the Creole Hall of Fame in order to recognize the Creole contribution to the world. Sean also served on the Governing board of the Memphis Chapter of the Recording Academy.

@seanardoin – Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, Velo, snapchat, and LinkedIn

#smokefreemusiccities

Kendra Muecke

“I am passionate about creating a space where musicians and audience members can both feel comfortable. In smoke free music venues, we allow the best of both worlds. If someone would like to partake in smoking they can go outside to a provided space, then join listeners inside for the main event, the music!”

Kendra Muecke from Kendra & the Bunnies is a singer/songwriter, writer, actress, and published author. She has released two albums, published two books, writes for several online music magazines, is part of SAG-Aftra, and tours nationally. Her mission is founded on peaceful collaborative experience and shared understanding.

AL BELL

“Having been a heavy smoker in the past I realize the irrefutable damage it can do not only to oneself, but to nonsmokers as well. Our musicians and fans need to be protected from secondhand smoke. This is a health equity issue – everyone needs to breathe! I find it alarming that more music cities aren’t already smokefree. What’s going on Atlanta, Nashville, Las Vegas? It’s time for all cities to go smokefree!”

AL BELL, Former Chairman & Owner, Stax Records. Former President, Motown Records Group. Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, Al Bell Presents, LLC.  Al Bell Presents is a high quality global business focused on “working with others” in pursuit of “global economic development and empowerment opportunities” utilizing the powerful spirit immersed in music and entertainment.

#smokefreemusiccities

Joey Stuckey

“I am the official music ambassador of Macon, Georgia. We have big things going on in Atlanta. We want to have smoke free environments for our entertainment, the health of our citizens, the health of the children. and the health of the people who participate in all these amazing things we are doing.”

Joey Stuckey is an award-winning blind guitarist, songwriter, singer, composer, producer, radio and television personality, music columnist, educator and sound engineer. He is also the official music ambassador for his home town of Macon, Georgia.

ERIC ADCOCK

“When delivering a musical performance I feel it is paramount for the audience to have the best experience possible! That includes a smokefree environment that isn’t toxic to their health, or mine. I proudly lend my voice to support smoke-free performance spaces and work environments.”

Eric Adcock is a 3-time GRAMMY Nominee, Pianist, Songwriter, and Producer from Abbeville, Louisiana.

#smokefreemusiccities

Kendra Black

“As a singer, my voice is my instrument and the air quality around me is so important, but no matter what type of artist you are, I believe that everyone should be able to choose the air they breathe.”

As seen in AXS, PopDust and AllAccess, NYC pop artist and dancer Kendra Black has collaborated with award winning artists and producers including the renowned Snoop Dogg. She just dropped a new EDM/Pop infused album ‘The Fire’ in Feb 2019; some of her latest releases include her track ‘Dangerless’, available on all music platforms, as well as her album ‘The Edge’ produced by L.A. production team Trend Def Studios, featuring Snoop on her single ‘Rude’. The single is already finding spins on Power 105, Hot 97 and 103.9 FM and its official music video has over 60,000 views and is available on VEVO, Youtube, Apple Music, and Amazon.

kendrablackmusic.com

IG and FB: @kendrablackmusic

Twitter: @kendrablacklive

Louis Anthony deLise, D.M.A.

“When I was a young drummer performing in Philadelphia, I was a nonsmoker, and yet, I remember how my clothes stank from cigarette smoke and how that putrid odor lingered in my hair and on my instruments. Forty years later, I’m surprised to learn Pennsylvania still allows smoking in clubs, bars, and casinos. Musicians who work at these places are regularly exposed to secondhand smoke. This really needs to stop! Musicians and others employed in the hospitality industry deserve safer working conditions. That’s why I wholeheartedly support the efforts of Smokefree Music Cities.”

The career of composer Louis Anthony deLise has included assignments working as an orchestral and studio musician (in orchestras that accompanied Tony Bennett, Diana Ross, Lou Rawls, Tom Jones, Bob Hope, Luciano Pavarotti, and many others), while simultaneously producing, arranging and conducting orchestras on recordings released on the CBS, EMI, Mercury, Centaur, Vanguard, and Def-Soul record labels.

Louis was arranger and conductor on Grammy-winner Patti LaBelle’s number one hit album, The Gospel According to Patti LaBelle. Along the way, deLise has maintained an active career as a composer of concert music, most of which is published in print by Metropolis Music Publishers (Antwerp, Belgium) and ALRY Publications (Seattle, Washington).In 2019, his Salone del Astor, a concerto written for flutist, Joan Sparks, was named, “Best Newly Published Mix Duet” by the National Flute Association.

His most recent record release is Natural Light, an album of ambient instrumental compositions played by the composer and his ensemble. Natural Light was recently in the top 10 on the ZMR Top 100 “New Age Radio Play” chart.

Dr. deLise was formerly Adjunct Professor of Theory and Composition at the Boyer College of Music and Dance and at Rowan University. He is the author of The Professional Songwriter, a new textbook on songwriting, and president of Bocage Music Publishing, LLC.

For more information: info@BocageMusic.com or call 856.616.2867

#smokefreemusiccities

Lenny San Jose
aka Ukulenny

“As a vocalist, and a melodica and sax player, my lungs are a big part of my livelihood as a musician. I’ve been lucky enough to live and perform in smoke free cities during my career and I hope that soon, every musician can breathe easy while performing their hearts out on stage.”

Lenny San Jose, aka Ukulenny, is an ukulele performer and educator based in Oakland, CA. An endorsed Kala Artist, he performs and teaches workshops across the country, preaching the ukulele gospel wherever he goes.

www.ukulenny.com

@ukulenny on IG, Facebook, and YouTube

David Arkenstone

“Choose a smoke free life. Choose a smoke free life for those around you. Don’t smoke! Let us all breathe free!”

David is a non-smoking, award winning, multi-Grammy® nominated visionary known for his diversity and distinctive tracks that inspire the imagination. David’s impressive recording career includes more than 60 albums, 20 Billboard hits, film & TV soundtracks and game scores.

Official site: www.davidarkestone.com

Facebook: davidarkenstone

Instagram: @david.arkenstone

Twitter: @davidarkenstone

#smokefreemusiccities

Linda Sypien

“Everyone deserves to work in a smokefree environment. By now everyone knows the health dangers of secondhand and thirdhand smoke. The times I have sung in smoke filled venues greatly affected my singing and ability to perform. Not only does the smoke in the clubs affect the performers, but the audience, crew, waitstaff, and bartenders as well. Everyone is affected and there are long term consequences.  I applaud Smokefree Music Cities for being the champion of this cause. There have been great steps taken to eliminate smoking in music venues, but there is still a long way to go.”

Linda Sypien is a singer, actor, and voice-over artist who has performed extensively throughout the US and Japan. Linda has performed with many Grammy winning artists including Chaka Khan and Carol Burnett.

SIERRA HEUERMANN

“All smoking does in venues is harm others. There is no positive benefit whatsoever. If we can take a small step to stop this, then we can make the world a much better place.”

Sierra Heuermann is a singer-songwriter, Recording Academy member, SAG actress, and stunt woman. Sierra is the lead vocalist for the award-winning band Sierra and the Radicals. She was also a vocalist on Muse’s “Drones” tour. The goal of her music is to show the importance of processing emotions, and how one can heal by great lengths when doing so.

Sierra’s acting career includes starring in the #1 box office film “Ouija” (2014). She continues to act and perform stunts in many Film and TV productions.

#smokefreemusiccities

KATHRYN CLOWARD

“It’s counterintuitive in this day and age for venues to still allow smoking. Everyone is aware of the harmful side effects smoking causes, both for smokers and those within second-hand distance. It’s a simple solution and ultimately helps to save lives.”

Songwriter, Recording Artist, Producer
A prolific and untethered songwriter, Kathryn Cloward’s relatable lyrics and soulful melodies with engaging musical arrangements reveal the passionate woman she is and the journey of transformation she’s been on. She is also known as “Kathryn the Grape.”

JORDI BAIZAN

“My hometown Houston, TX is a smokefree venue town. I have been around long enough to remember when that wasn’t the case. I tour all over the USA and some in Western Europe now, and occasionally I’ve played a smoking venue. The memories come flooding back of the not-so-good old days. It takes me up to a week to recover my voice. Because I cannot afford to damage my voice, I never return to those venues. I strongly support the work of Smoke Free Music Cities to create a healthy inside environment at venues for musicians, patrons, and staff.”

Performing Songwriter

#smokefreemusiccities

ALIE VINCENT HARRINGTON

“I strongly support SmokeFree Music Cities in all of their efforts to ensure everyone involved in the entertainment industry has clean air to breathe and work in. It’s not only a personal choice but a human right to have our health and well being protected. I hope my hometown Nashville TN and all cities across the world join this movement.”

Producer, Singer/Songwriter, Composer, Musician

DEE LUCAS

“I’ve been exposed to secondhand smoke. This is why I join with my fellow entertainter advocates ‘standing up and speaking out’ for smokefree venues for our places of work! We should not have to jeapordize our careers and lives for a paycheck! This is my job! And I can’t do my job if I can’t breathe!”

Jazz Saxophonist, Recording Artist

#smokefreemusiccities

DEACON JOHN MOORE

“Keep live music alive in a smoke free environment!”

Deacon John is a New Orleans treasure. He has entertained three generations of New Orleans and Louisiana fans as a musician, singer, actor, and bandleader of The Ivories. His enthusiasm of singing the classics and original music ranges from R&B, Blues, Rock and Roll, Jazz and Gospel leaves audiences blown away. He has played with music legends (such as himself) Allen Toussaint, Irma Thomas, and Ernie K-Doe. His accolades include the Louisiana Blues Hall of Fame inductee, the 2017 Big Easy and the 2016 Mercy Endeavors Award for his lifetime achievements. His own words “I am an Entertainer” and a “Chameleon when it comes to playing music” demonstrate his view on his career. Moore serves his musical community as the President of the Local 174-496 (New Orleans, LA.) American Federation of Musicians Union.

Just 30 minutes of exposure to secondhand smoke can cause heart damage similar to that of habitual smokers; nonsmokers’ heart arteries show a reduced ability to dilate, diminishing the ability of the heart to get life-sustaining blood. Damage to the endothelial cells of arteries persists for at least 24 hours and interferes with the body’s efforts to repair itself. In addition, the same half hour of secondhand smoke exposure activates blood platelets, which can initiate the process of atherosclerosis (blockage of the heart’s arteries) that leads to heart attacks. These effects explain other research showing that nonsmokers regularly exposed to SHS suffer death or morbidity rates 30 percent higher than those of unexposed nonsmokers.1,2,3

ELLIS HALL

“Starting out in the music business at 16 years old I was performing as many as seven nights a week seven sets a night in smoky bars. I learned very quickly that my decision not to smoke was a very smart one. However, suffering the consequences of working in a smoke-filled environment was not something that I relished. Having had glaucoma all my life the effects of secondhand smoke on my eyes, not to mention my vocal cords and lungs has been difficult at times to say the least. I will continue to use my voice to speak out against venues that continue to allow smoking.”

Ellis Hall also known as “The Ambassador of Soul” is a singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, producer and composer who has been featured on multiple Grammy nominated projects. Having been blind since the age of 18 he has performed internationally as a lead singer/keyboardist for the soul-funk band Tower of Power, The California Raisins and is known for his multi-platinum hit “What Does It Take” on the Kenny G Duo Tones Album. Hall has also shared the stage with some of the most noted performers of our time to include, the Legendary Ray Charles of whom he is the declared Protégé. Hall also has two successful concept Symphony shows Ellis Hall Presents: Ray Motown and Beyond and Ellis Hall: Soul Unlimited where he is supported by major symphony orchestras such as The Boston Pops, Dallas Symphony Orchestra, The National Symphony Orchestra to name a few.

#Ellishall
#ambassadorofsoul
#ellishallpresents
www.ellishall.com
Twitter: @ellishallmusic
IG: @ellishallmusic
FB: www.facebook.com/OfficialEllisHallMusic/
Wikipedia: Ellis Hall (musician)

JULIA FORDHAM

“I really feel I can do my best work when the air is clean making it easier to sing and for long pure notes to ring out without being stifled and cut short by a smokey atmosphere. Thank you to Billboard Live Tokyo for this photo and for not allowing smoking at their venue.”

Julia Fordham continues to enchant audiences around the world with her extraordinary vocal range and heartfelt songs. “A luscious contralto that she wields with an almost operatic command, it is one of the most strikingly beautiful voices to be heard in pop.” – New York Times. From 1988’s Happy Ever After – her first release and international hit and throughout all of her 15 albums, Julia’s unique voice and exquisitely crafted compositions strike an everlasting chord.

#smokefreemusiccities

MIKE BOURNE

“I am so in favor of smoke-free venues. When I play in a smoking venue, afterwards I feel like crap, my voice and throat feels like it is raw. I may as well have been smoking the same cigarette as the man in the front row. I believe that I should not have to jeopardize my health and possibly my life to do what I live and love to do! Make music, and be able to earn a living doing it.”

Mike Bourne and The Atlanta Boogie Band

WINNERS! 2010 IBC CHALLENGE AS ATLANTA’S BEST BLUES BAND
SEMI FINALIST AT 2012 INTERNATIONAL BLUES COMPETITION IN MEMPHIS!

Mike Bourne has knocked out audiences and critics in famous venues from the House of Blues and Buddy Guys Legends in Chicago to Sweden’s famous Jazz Club “Stampen”.

CRAIG KLEIN

“Playing music in a smoke free environment has added years onto my music by way of keeping the air clear which keeps my lungs clear.”

Klein knows his way around, under and over a trombone. As a member of the hit band Bonerama, he has performed on the national stage such as the Bear Creek Festival in Hampton Georgia, the High Sierra Music Festival in Quincy CA., and the New Orleans Jazz and Heritage Festival in New Orleans. Some of the more memorable highlights of his career was being able to demonstrate his talent on the trombone on the CBS Late Show with David Letterman, HBO Comic Relief, Treme and a CNN short spotlight. Audience members everywhere can be heard saying “I never knew a trombone could do that”. Klein learned and is still learning his craft by also playing with the legendary Storyville Stompers Brass Band, Nighcrawlers Brass Band. You can even catch him blowing that incredible trombone, or even his sousaphone at the famous Preservation Hall.

#smokefreemusiccities

BRANJAE

“Smoking just seems so out of style these days. I mean, how uncool it is to consciously know what level of poison these things are on, yet continue to blow smoke everywhere. I mean, you’re taking away my right to oxygen… and that is just the uncoolest.”

Branjae established herself as a full-bodied-triple-entertainer; singing, dancing, and acting her way into the hearts of concert audiences from Tulsa to Austin’s SXSW, from Atlanta to Chicago, and across the sea to England. She’s opened/shared the stage with Thundercat, Fishbone, Ohio Players, RC and the Grits (Erykah Badu’s current band), Andy Frasco and the late Waymen Tisdale.

SHS is a major source of pollution – and is a risk factor for pulmonary disease, asthma, and lung cancer. Three cigarettes smoldering in a room emit up to 10-fold more particulate matter (PM) pollution than an ecodiesel engine. High levels of PM exposure from SHS may account for frequent episodes of short term respiratory damage in nonsmokers.4

LENISE BENT

“No one should have to tolerate a smoking environment for any reason. This includes the performers up there working, the audience and fans wanting to hear them and any crew providing the technical, audio and lighting support to make the show happen. Here’s to a smoke free musical experience for all!”

Producer/engineer LENISE BENT is one of the first women audio engineers, a post production audio professional, and a long-standing voting member of NARAS and the Producers & Engineers Wing of the Recording Academy as well as many other important audio organizations, including the Audio Engineering Society and SoundGirls.

Bartenders working in smoke-filled bars are more likely than other workers to report having red or irritated eyes, coughing in the morning, coughing during the rest of the day, runny noses or sneezing, and a sore or scratchy throat.5

JANET ROBIN

“As a frequent touring musician, singing in a smokefree venue is an absolute must. Smoke, of course, affects my lungs and breathing, and irritates my voice. We pay the price… but so does the audience, as they don’t get our very best performance.”

Veteran Los Angeles area guitarist, singer-songwriter Janet Robin supports performing in smokefree environments.

www.janetrobin.com
www.thestringrevolution.com

After New York State’s smokefree law went into effect, the number of hospitality workers who reportedly experienced irritation of the eye, nose, and throat declined by 62%, 34%, and 45%, respectively. Before the state law went into effect, 59% of hospitality workers reported respiratory symptoms, such as morning cough, shortness of breath, or bringing up phlegm. After the smokefree law took effect, the number of workers who reportedly experienced morning cough dropped by 46%. Another study showed that within three months of implementation of the law, the prevalence of workers reporting sensory symptoms declined by 50%.6,7

CHUBBY CARRIER

“I want to leave a longer music Legacy to my family and fans than my father Zydeco Legend Roy Carrier was able to leave to me. He had to play in smoky places all of his career. And he suffered for it. Smokefree is a way to give me and my fans a longer life filled with music.”

Chubby Carrier is undeniably “The World’s Premier Zydeco Showman.” Born on July 1, 1967 in Churchpoint, Louisiana, Chubby is the third generation of zydeco artists with such famous relatives as Roy Carrier (father), Warren Carrier (grandfather), and cousins Bebe and Calvin Carrier who are presently considered legends in zydeco history. Chubby began his musical career at the age of 12 by playing drums with his father’s band. He began playing the accordion at the age of 15. By age 17, Chubby had begun to play with Terrance Siemien and toured the world for 2 1/2 years, before forming his own band in 1989.  Chubby Carrier and the Bayou Swamp Band have recorded ten CDs over the past 22 years of Chubby’s professional career. His band has traveled all over the world, performing to audiences in all parts of the United States, including Alaska and Hawaii, Canada. North Africa and Europe. Chubby and the band travel 150-175 days a year, taking his act to big festivals such as the New Orleans Jazz Fest, the Chicago Blues Fest. Summerfest (Milwaukee), Memphis in May, and several festivals in Europe. Chubby has also done guest appearances on recordings for Tab Benoit, 6Was9, and Jimmy Thackery. Ann Wilson of the group Heart encourages Chubby to “continue the great sound that you have. This sound will take you places.”

The 2006 U.S. Surgeon General’s Report on The Health Consequences of Involuntary Exposure to Secondhand Smoke has concluded that 100% smokefree workplace policies are the only “effective way to eliminate secondhand smoke exposure in the workplace.”8

JESSIE BRIDGES

“As a musician I want to be present and feel connected to my environment. Playing in smoky clubs and casinos is an unwelcomed distraction and, more importantly, an unhealthy place for any musician. I’m glad to be a voice in support of smokefree air for everyone.”

Jessie Bridges, a native of California, is an Indie/Folk Singer-songwriter and an Actress.

Smokefree laws add value to establishments. Restaurants in smokefree cities have a higher market value at resale (an average of 16% higher) than comparable restaurants located in smoke-filled cities.9

TERRY STEELE

“As a vocalist, performing in a smokefree environment is essential to sustaining my voice! I have been blessed to have traveled the world, singing in various cities … It’s always a joy to step onto a stage where the air is clean and free of smoke! It’s good for our planet – it’s good for our lives!”

Terry Steele is a Grammy-Nominated songwriter, a solo artist, and lead vocalist for the group Hiroshima. He wrote “Here and Now,” which earned Luther Vandross his first Grammy Award.

Facebook.com/terry.steele.10
#terrysteelemusic

A national 2015 Gallup poll found that the majority of Americans favor smokefree public places.10

YVETTE LANDRY

“Let’s clear the air…smokefree venues help me to live well and sing about it!  I support Smokefree Music Cities.  Won’t You?”

Yvette Landry is a Grammy nominated, award-winning vocalist, multi-instrumentalist, songwriter and noted children’s author.  She fronts both, “The Yvette Landry Band,” as well as “Yvette Landry & The Jukes.” A Governor to the Memphis Chapter of the Recording Academy, and a Cultural Ambassador, Yvette performs as an award-winning Louisiana honky-tonk artist, who travels throughout the United States, Canada and Europe sharing her own music as well as the Cajun culture.

The American Society of Heating, Refrigerating, and Air Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE) adopted a position document that states: “At present, the only means of effectively eliminating health risks associated with indoor exposure is to ban smoking activity… No other engineering approaches, including current and advanced dilution ventilation or air cleaning technologies, have demonstrated or should be relied upon to control health risks from ETS [environmental tobacco smoke] exposure in spaces where smoking occurs… Because of ASHRAE’s mission to act for the benefit of the public, it encourages elimination of smoking in the indoor environment as the optimal way to minimize ETS exposure.”11

SHELLY PEIKEN

“Living in Los Angeles, I automatically assume that a venue will be smokefree. If I walk into a venue where it isn’t I feel assaulted by the air. The smoke gets into my jeans, my hair, my eyes, my lungs, my mood! Sadly, I don’t think I could stay.”

Shelly is a 2 time GRAMMY-Nominated songwriter, a musician, and author of “Confessions of a Serial Songwriter.” Best known for writing the culturally resonant female empowerment anthems, “What A Girl Wants” (Christina Aguilera) and “Bitch” (Meredith Brooks).

The average level of cotinine (metabolized nicotine) among nonsmokers increased by 456% and the average levels of the carcinogen NNAL increased by 112% after four hours of exposure to secondhand smoke in a smoke-filled casino with a “sophisticated” ventilation system.12

PAUL SANCHEZ

“Smokefree shows make the job easier and more enjoyable because I can breathe. Breathing is important for singers horn players, bartenders, servers and tech crew because if we can’t breathe we can’t do our jobs, whatever your job is in the venue. I play around the world and it is rare to walk into venues that allow smoking, it is always a jarring memory of a less civilized time. I’m grateful for smoke free music.”

Paul Sanchez is a native New Orleanian singer-songwriter, actor, and founding member of the rock band “Cowboy Mouth.” He was featured in the HBO series “Treme” as himself and as the creative force behind the musical “Nine Lives” – based on Dan Baum’s novel.

Smoke-filled casinos have up to 50 times more cancer-causing particles in the air than highways and city streets clogged with diesel trucks in rush hour traffic. After going smokefree, indoor air pollution virtually disappears in the same environments.13

EAMONN MCCRYSTAL

“The dangers of second and thirdhand smoke are very well documented. It’s just not possible for me to perform in a smoke filled atmosphere. Aside from the health risks and the uncomfortable vocal experience, it’s just never a pleasant experience when you return home and your clothes and equipment are destroyed with the smell of smoke.”

Eamonn McCrystal is a Multi-Emmy Award winning Northern Irish pop tenor, actor, TV host and producer based in Los Angeles, California.

Smokefree workplaces decrease cigarette consumption in continuing smokers, as well as decrease adult smoking prevalence. Smokefree laws result in fewer respiratory symptoms in workers, and there is strong evidence that these laws result in decreased hospital admissions for heart attacks. There is no negative economic impact for restaurants and bars going smokefree.14

me&you

“Our voices help us share our stories and smoke filled venues make it hard for us to do just that. We must breathe clean air to perform at our best. Not to mention, secondhand smoke is a serious threat to our bodies and everyone in the audience!”

Northern California brother-sister duo, Connor and Karlee, are touring singer-songwriters.

Bartenders working in smoke-filled bars are more likely than other workers to report having red or irritated eyes, coughing in the morning, coughing during the rest of the day, runny noses or sneezing, and a sore or scratchy throat.15

CHLOË AGNEW

Celtic Songbird Chloë Agnew supports performing in smokefree environments.

“A smokefree venue is just as important to the musicians as it is to the audience. It creates a safe, clean environment for all, and it’s important we lead the way in setting the precedent for a healthier world for the generations to come.”

Chloë Agnew is a renown singer, songwriter and actress, and currently resides in Los Angeles, CA. Chloë, originally from Dublin, Ireland, gained international acclaim with her music group Celtic Woman and was the youngest original member when she joined at age 14. 

http://www.chloeagnewofficial.com

#chloëagnew #chloë #celticsongbird #celticwoman #thethingaboutyou #independentartists #singersongwriter #irish

#smokefreemusiccities

KAYLENE PEOPLES

“Smoking in venues is a deadly proposition. Many talented people have died as a result of second-hand smoke. I was recently at my own performance and stepped outdoors for some fresh air, but what I got instead was a mouthful of second-hand smoke. This one unfortunate incident rendered me bedridden for two weeks. Smoking should be outlawed—it is a poison that surely kills!”

Kaylene Peoples is an award-winning musician, music producer, and film director. She has also performed with numerous Grammy-winning artists. As a film composer with many soundtrack credits under her belt, Kaylene was inspired to create Bella Composers, a performing arts charity for women composers, and she is the music curator for the Artemis Women in Action Film and Music Festival.

Nonsmokers and former smokers who are exposed to secondhand smoke in confined workplaces display a significant increase in DNA damage associated with a decrease in DNA repair capacity.16

LENNY WILLIAMS

“I tried smoking cigarettes once because I wanted that gruff sound like Wilson Pickett, but after 2 weeks, I quit, and it’s a blessing I didn’t get hooked. I still work in places around the USA where there is smoke, like casinos and other venues. I usually have red eyes, and I start coughing so I would love to perform in smoke free environments.”

Lenny Williams is the former lead vocalist of legendary R&B group Tower Of Power, a multi-platinum artist, a recipient of the BMI Songwriter’s Award, and has shared the stage with many other music legends.

#smokefreemusiccities

JOSH SKLAIR

“Every time I play in a concert hall, club or recording studio that is smokefree – which is 99% of the time now – I am grateful to everyone who relentlessly fought this battle for both performers and audiences. I was around when things were very different and really appreciate the positive change.”

Josh Sklair is a songwriter, musician, and a two-time Grammy winning producer for two Etta James albums, “Let’s Roll” and “Blues to the Bone.” Josh was not only Etta’s musical director and lead guitarist for 25 years, but he has worked with countless other renown artists, including Jeffrey Osborne, The Blues Brothers, Sohpie B. Hawkins, and many more. He is currently touring with Paul Anka.

Smokefree ordinances in Appleton and Madison, Wisconsin resulted in a decrease in the bartenders’ mean level of exposure to secondhand smoke at work from 20.7 hours a week pre-ordinance to 1.6 hours a week post-ordinance. Secondhand smoke exposure in other places decreased from 8.2 hours to 4.1 hours, and home exposure decreased from 3.9 hours to 2.8 hours. The prevalence of eight upper respiratory symptoms significantly decreased during the post-ordinance period among non-smoking bartenders. Smokers reported a significant reduction of two symptoms.17

KEN STACEY

“It is not possible to perform at my best, unless my lungs are strong and clear. Every stage I step onto is my office, no matter the size of the venue. If you are a true supporter of the musical arts, insisting on a smoke free environment is one of the most important ways you can support the longevity and health of the artists you love! And you will be supporting your own health at the same time! And your health, the FAN, is absolutely vital to us, the ARTISTS!”

Ken Stacey, Lead Vocalist for 5 Time Grammy Nominated Progressive Pop Rock Super Group, Ambrosia.

#smokefreemusiccities

TRACY SILVERMAN

“When I first started playing in rock clubs, I used to see the crowd through a haze of low hanging cigarette smoke. By the end of the night, not only did my clothes, instrument and gear all reek of cigarettes, but my eyes and lungs would hurt for days. Let’s help to make smoky clubs go the way of my old 4 track cassette recorder and become a relic from an earlier, less advanced era.”

Hailed as “the greatest living exponent of the electric violin” by BBC Radio, Tracy Silverman has contributed significantly to the repertoire and development of the 6-sring electric violin and what he calls “post-classical” string playing. His groundbreaking work defies musical boundaries and is helping to redefine the role of the violin in contemporary music.

The 2002 Environmental Health Information Service’s 10th Report on Carcinogens classifies secondhand smoke as a Group A (Human) Carcinogen–a substance known to cause cancer in humans. There is no safe level of exposure for Group A toxins. Reducing or diluting the level of smoke through ventilation does not equate to protection from the health hazards of secondhand smoke.18

ROD BONFIGLIO

“As a singer, there’s nothing worse than entering a club or casino and being confronted by that dreadful smell of cigarette smoke. It can often be a make or break in terms of a good performance. Second hand smoke should play no part in the workplace of a professional musician.”

Singer/Songwriter

#smokefreemusiccities

JENNIFER LEITHAM

“Playing in smoke filled venues in the 70’s and 80’s gave me a hacking cough and triggered Asthma. Since most venues have gone smokeless my breathing is better and my overall health has improved.”

Bassist, Vocalist, Composer

Photo by Mary Ann Halpin for Vanity Fair

Cadmium, benzene, lead, and arsenic are just a few of the more than 4,000 hazardous chemical components of secondhand smoke that are also toxins common to blue-collar workplaces. Synergistically, cigarette smoke and workplace toxins can multiply the risk of getting lung cancer by as much as 53 times in blue-collar workers.19

RONEE MARTIN

“As an artist who doesn’t smoke, but has been around many smokers, I can now see and feel the difference between a smoke-free environment and a smoking environment. Because smoking affects everyone’s health (yours, mine, ours!), I think we should help create a smoke-free environment for us all. It not only affects our voices, but our health and our children’s health. Without second-hand smoke, we’ll all experience longer healthier living!”

Ronee Martin is a singer-songwriter and native Virginian who currently resides in Los Angeles.

She was formerly signed as a recording artist to MoJazz Records/Motown. In addition to her own illustrious singing career, she feels fortunate to have co-wrote a song, “This Is Love,” and have it recorded by one of her childhood idols, Gladys Knight. In 2016, Ronee was a quarter-finalist on America’s Got Talent, Season 11.

The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) states that “Ventilation does not effectively protect nonsmokers from secondhand smoke.”20

CASII STEPHAN

“Smoke-free venues give me peace of mind that my vocal chords will still be working by the end of the show. The times I have played in smoking venues, the second hand smoke has affected my vocals for a day or two afterwards,
which is never a good thing for a professional vocalist. I’d love to see Tulsa become a smoke-free venue music city!”

Casii Stephan is a singer/songwriter with comparisons to Florence Welch, Fiona Apple and Carole King, her voice will envelop your soul like a “warm blanket” (Tulsa World). Leading from the keyboard, Casii’s songwriting
uniquely blends her soulful voice with emotional lyrics that speak to your heart and pop hooks that get stuck in your head.

The 2010 U.S. Surgeon General’s Report, “How Tobacco Smoke Causes Disease,” confirmed that “Low levels of smoke exposure, including exposures to secondhand tobacco smoke, lead to a rapid and sharp increase in dysfunction and inflammation of the lining of the blood vessels, which are implicated in heart attacks and stroke. … Damage from tobacco smoke is immediate.”21

ERIC HIMAN

“As someone with asthma, it is hard for me to play gigs in smokey bars. I end up using my inhaler towards the end of the night. There were tours where I would go back to back in clubs with smoke and lucky now that many of those clubs are now non-smoking.” which is never a good thing for a professional vocalist. I’d love to see Tulsa become a smoke-free venue music city!”

Tulsa-based singer-songwriter and acoustic guitarist, Eric Himan, has toured in support of national acts as diverse as Ani DiFranco and the late Leon Russell. An award-winning, nationally-touring musician, Himan’s music has been played on SiriusXM Coffeehouse and included in Hollister Stores’ in-store playlist nationwide. Himan and his music have been featured in numerous publications, including American Songwriter Magazine, The Huffington Post, and Out Magazine. He has licensed his songs to E!, MTV, VH1, and the Discovery Channel and has sold more than 40,000 albums nationwide as an indie artist. For more information on Himan, visit www.erichiman.com. His latest, CONTENDERS, is out now on iTunes, Amazon, Spotify and his official website.

REFERENCES

  1. Otsuka, R., et al. “Acute effects of passive smoking on the coronary circulation in healthy young adults,” Journal of the American Medical Association 286(4): 436-441, July 25, 2001.
  2. Burghuber, O., et al. “Platelet sensitivity to prostacyclin in smokers and non-smokers,” Chest 90(1): 34-38, July 1986.
  3. Heiss, C., et al. “Brief secondhand smoke exposure depresses endothelial progenitor cells activity and endothelial function,” Journal of the American College of Cardiology 51(18): 1760-1771, May 6, 2008.
  4. Invernizzi, G., et al. “Particulate matter from tobacco versus diesel car exhaust: an educational perspective,” Tobacco Control 13(3): 219-221, September 2004.
  5. Palmersheim, K.A., et al., “Madison Bartenders Baseline Survey: Preliminary Findings – Brief Report,” Tobacco Surveillance & Evaluation Program, University of Wisconsin, Comprehensive Cancer Center, September 2005.
  6. RTI International, “First Annual Independent Evaluation of New York’s Tobacco Control Program,” New York State Department of Health, November 2004.
  7. Farrelly, M.C., et al. “Changes in hospitality workers’ exposure to secondhand smoke following the implementation of New York’s smoke-free law,” Tobacco Control 14(4): 236-241, August 2005.
  8. U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, “The Health Consequences of Involuntary Exposure to Tobacco Smoke: A Report of the Surgeon General,” U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office on Smoking and Health, 2006.
  9. Alamar, B., et al. “Smoke-free ordinances increase restaurant profit and value,” Contemporary Economic Policy 22(4): 520-525, October 2004.
  10. McCarthy, J., “Ban on smoking in public retains majority support in U.S.,” Gallup, July 20, 2015.
  11. Samet, J., et al. “ASHRAE position document on environmental tobacco smoke,” American Society of Heating, Refrigerating and Air-Conditioning Engineers (ASHRAE), adopted October 22, 2010, reaffirmed June 29, 2016.
  12. Anderson, K., et al. “Metabolites of tobacco-specific lung carcinogen in nonsmoking casino patrons,” Cancer Epidemiology, Biomarkers & Prevention 12: 1544-1546, December 2003.
  13. Repace, J., “Respirable particles and carcinogens in the air of Delaware hospitality venues before and after a smoking ban,” Journal of Occupational and Environmental Medicine 46(9): 887-905, September 2004.
  14. Pierce, J.P., et al. “Special report: policy — effectiveness of smoke-free policies,” Lancet Oncology 9: 614-615, July 2008.
  15. Palmersheim, K.A., et al. “Madison Bartenders Baseline Survey: preliminary findings – brief report,” Tobacco Surveillance & Evaluation Program, University of Wisconsin, Comprehensive Cancer Center, September 2005.
  16. Fracasso, M.E., et al. “DNA damage and repair capacity by comet assay in lymphocytes of white-collar active smokers and passive smokers (non- and ex-smokers) at workplace,” Toxicology Letters 167(2): 131–141, December 1, 2006.
  17. Palmersheim, K.; Wegner, M.; Remington, P., “Health effects of smoke-free bars in Wisconsin,” Wisconsin’s Comprehensive Cancer Control Program Surveillance Brief 3(1), April 2007.
  18. Report on Carcinogens, Tenth Edition; U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Public Health Service, National Toxicology Program, December 2002.
  19. Building Trades Unions Ignite Less Tobacco [BUILT] Project, “Unions yes [and] tobacco no,” California: Department of Health Services, 2001.
  20. “Ventilation Does Not Effectively Protect Nonsmokers from Secondhand Smoke,” Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Accessed on November 5, 2018. https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/fact_sheets/secondhand_smoke/protection/ventilation/index.htm
  21. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). A Report of the Surgeon General: How Tobacco Smoke Causes Disease — Fact Sheet, 2010. Download at https://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/2010/pdfs/key-findings.pdf